Bryant Parks Committee Meeting

January 14, 2025 - 6:00 PM Bishop Park Administration Building 6401 Boone Rd. Bryant, Arkansas

UNAPPROVED MINUTES

Call to Order - Keith Cox at 6:00 PM

Committee Members Present - Jennifer Benning, Renee Curtis, Lynn Farmer, Amanda Jolly, Drew Martin, Chera Moore and Jason Whittington.

Others Present - Parks Director Keith Cox, Parks Assistant Director Matt Martin, IT Support Technician Philip Plouch, City Councilman Jack Mosely and Jim Anderson with Central Arkansas Soccer.

Approval of Minutes

1. December 10 Parks Committee Meeting

Motion to approve by Moore, seconded by Martin. Motion carried.

Associations/Club Reports

There were no Association/Club Reports

Director's Report

2. Parks December Summary

Cox presents the summary of actions and activities from December, highlighting multiple equipment failures at the Aquatics Center and giving updates on the status of the facility, including the scoreboard, lap pool heater, therapy pool heater, the HVAC system in the bathhouse and the current status of the PoolPak system. Martin asks for an update on the Mills Pool cover.

3. Parks Capital Projects Update

Cox then gives an update on capital projects and leads with the status of the Mills Pool cover; which was shipped but unable to be installed due to an issue with the cover. We are still waiting on the new pool cover. He also discusses the pool dehumidifier replacement, with the bid opening this month and work to be scheduled for the Summer, and updates on trails.

Public Comments

Jim Anderson introduces himself as the new President of Central Arkansas Soccer Club and expresses his excitement to continue to grow soccer at Midland Park and working with the Bryant Parks Department.

Old Business

4. Parks Committee Bylaws

Cox explains that he will need to take the bylaws for updating due to the location of the meeting. He asks the committee to review the current bylaws and bring any other changes that may be necessary to the February meeting.

New Business

5. Election of Parks Committee Chairperson

Amanda Jolly elected as 2025 Parks Committee Chairperson by majority vote.

Committee Comments

There were no Committee Comments

Adjournment

Motion to adjourn by Curtis, seconded by Martin. Motion carried.